News Ticker

TUCO reveals award shortlist for 2019

The University Caterers Organisation (TUCO) has announced the shortlist for its 2019 TUCO Awards. The prestigious awards celebrate its members’ outstanding achievements. It recognises the commitment and efforts of teams and individuals working across the diverse range of positions in catering and hospitality.

Only in its third year, the awards include a rising star award, innovation award, sustainability award, team of the year, member of the year and outstanding achievement award.

Matthew White, TUCO chairman comments:

“Our TUCO Awards are a great opportunity for us to celebrate the outstanding work that our members have achieved throughout the last 12 months and beyond. It is important for us to recognise and show our appreciation for the teams and individuals who go the extra mile at their institutions.”

He adds, “It was tremendously difficult to whittle down the many amazing entries to just three finalists in each award category. Many congratulations to all that have been shortlisted.”

The winners will be revealed during the Gala Awards dinner on Wednesday 31st July. The awards ceremony will be the culmination of the TUCO Conference, taking place 29th – 31st July at the University of York.

The theme of this year’s TUCO Conference is ‘Driving Commercial Success’. The three-day event will showcase a diverse range of inspirational speakers who will share their experiences and suggest ways for institutions to achieve value for money, choice and innovation. Delegates can book onto a tour of the York campus and the Yorkshire Heart Vineyard. And its exhibition consisting of more than 95 suppliers will showcase a wide range of brand-new products.

To book your place at this year’s TUCO Conference 2019, taking place on 29th – 31st July 2019 at the University of York, visit

Full list of TUCO Awards 2019 finalists

Rising Star Award

•         Annika Cheung – Royal Holloway University, London

•         Gary Daly – Queens University Belfast

•         Annabel Hurst – Cardiff University

Innovation Award

•         Aston University

•         University of Manchester

•         University of Reading

Sustainability Award

•         Aston University

•         Cardiff Metropolitan University

•         University of Chester

Team of the Year

•         Procurement Team – Cardiff University

•         Hospitality Team – Lancaster University

•         Eat@Hope – Liverpool Hope University

TUCO Member of the Year

•         University of Kent

•         University of Manchester

•         University of St Andrews

Outstanding Achievement Award

•         Bill Brogan – University of Cambridge

•         Kate Glynn, Aston University

•         Jade Willett – University of Lincoln

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news, tutorials and special offers!
No Thanks
Thanks for signing up. You must confirm your email address before we can send you. Please check your email and follow the instructions.
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
WordPress Popup